Resource Center

Local Organizations

Healthy & Sustainable Community Development
California Student Sustainability Coalition (UCSD and SDSU) – http://www.sustainabilitycoalition.org/
San Diego Sustainable Living Institute – http://sdsustainable.org/ (info@SDSustainable.org)
Awakening The Dreamer – http://www.pachamama.org/workshops
Generation Waking Up – http://generationwakingup.org/
The 1 to 1 Movement – http://www.1to1movement.org/
Ecofficiency – http://www.ecofficiency.org/
The Soular Power System – http://www.thesoularpowersystem.com/
San Diego Green Chamber – http://directory.usgreenchamber.com/
The Brighter Side Foundation – http://thebrightersidefoundation.org/
Jim Bell – http://www.jimbell.com/ –  jimbellelsi@cox.net
Ending Poverty Together – http://www.endingpovertytogether.org
International Rescue Committeee – http://www.rescue.org/
Sky Mountain Institute – http://www.skymountain.org/
Solana Center – http://www.solanacenter.org/
San Diego Regional Sustainability Partnership – http://sdrsp.wordpress.com/
Center for Regional Sustainability – SDSU – http://crs.sdsu.edu/dus/regionalsustainability/
Equinox Center – http://www.equinoxcenter.org/
San Diego EarthWorks – http://www.earthdayweb.org/
San Diego Eco Green Lifestyles Group – http://www.meetup.com/San-Diego-Eco-Green-Group/events/past/
Sierra Club San Diego Chapter – http://sandiego.sierraclub.org/home/index.asp
Sustainability Alliance of Southern California – http://sascorg.groupsite.com/main/summary
Sustainability Solutions Institute UCSD – http://esi.ucsd.edu/
United Green – http://unitedgreen.org/
Zero Waste San Diego – http://www.zerowastesandiego.org/
Building Sustainable Communities – http://www.buildingsustainablecommunities.org
Patagonia Environmentalism – http://www.patagonia.com/us/environmentalism
LUX Art Institute – http://www.luxartinstitute.org/
Resounding Joy – http://www.resoundingjoyinc.org/
Botany for Kids – http://www.botanyforkids.com/ – 619 223-5529
San Diego Permaculture – http://www.meetup.com/SanDiegoPermaculture/?gj=ej1c&a=wg2_l4

Food
Wild Willow Farm/Roots (http://wildwillowfarm.sandiegoroots.org/) (mel@sandiegoroots.org) – http://sandiegoroots.org/tabling.php
Victory Gardens (http://www.victorygardenssandiego.com/) 858-382-4638
EcoLife Foundation – http://www.ecolifefoundation.org/programs/san-diego-village-aquaponics/ – 760-740-1346
Plant With Purpose – http://www.plantwithpurpose.org/
San Diego Community Garden Network – http://sandiegocommunitygardennetwork.org/
HG Edible Landscapes – http://hgediblelandscapes.com
San Diego Food Not Lawns – http://www.sdfoodnotlawns.com/
Slow Food San Diego – http://www.slowfood.com/
Real Food Challenge – http://realfoodchallenge.org/
Plant Your Dream – http://plantyourdream.net/
Leslie Goldman – http://www.lesliegoldman.com/
Coastal Sage Gardening  – www.coastalsage.com – 619-223-5229

Water
Surfrider – http://sandiego.surfrider.org/ – 858-792-9940
Coast Keepers – http://www.sdcoastkeeper.org/ – 619-758-7743
Aqua Hedionda Lagoon Foundation – Carlsbad – http://www.aguahedionda.org/
Batiquitos Lagoon Foundation – http://www.batiquitosfoundation.org/
Buena Vista Lagoon Foundation – Carlsbad – http://www.buenavistalagoon.org/
Escondido Creek Conservancy – http://escondidocreek.org/
The Water Conservation Garden, El Cajon – http://www.thegarden.org/
Water Conservation Program, City of San Diego – http://www.sandiego.gov/water/conservation/
Wild Coast – http://www.wildcoast.net/

Shelter
4 Walls International – http://www.4wallsintl.org/
Habitat for Humanity San Diego – http://www.sdhfh.org/
Rebuild Global – http://www.rebuildglobal.org/
Hubbell and Hubbell Architects – http://www.hubbellandhubbell.com/
San Diego Green Building Council – http://www.usgbc-sd.org/
American Society of Landscape Architects – http://www.asla-sandiego.org/
Sustainability Matters – http://sustainabilitymatters.us/

Energy
Grid Alternatives – http://www.gridalternatives.org/my-community-san-diego – infosd@gridalternatives.org
CCSE – http://energycenter.org/ – 858-244-1177
Clean Tech San Diego – http://www.cleantechsandiego.org/
San Diego Alternative Energy Meetup Group – http://www.meetup.com/san-diego-energizers/
San Diego Renewable Energy Society – http://sdres.org/files/index.php

Economy
Common Credits – http://www.commoncredits.org/
San Diego Time Bank – http://sandiego.timebanks.org/
Enviro-Business Society – http://www.clube3.org/

Transportation
Electrical Vehicle Assocation of San Diego – http://www.evaosd.com/http://www.evaosd.com/
Move SD – http://www.movesandiego.org/index.html

Recycling / Reuse / Waste
San Diego 350 – http://sandiego350.org/

National Organizations

The UN Global Compact Cities Program – United Nations – Global ( http://citiesprogramme.org ) US Green Building Council ( http://www.usgbc.org/ )
US Green Chamber ( http://www.usgreenchamber.com/ )
Training Program For Sustainable Community Planning – Canada
( http://www.cmhc.ca/en/hoficlincl/cmhcin/inre/inre_005.cfm )
APPLE Center for Sustainable Living ( http://www.applecenter.org/ )
The Solar Living Institute – Hopland, CA ( http://www.solarliving.org/ )
Occidental Arts & Ecology Center – Occidental, CA ( http://www.oaec.org/ )
Cal-Earth – The California Institute of Earth Art & Architecture ( http://calearth.org/ )
City Repair – Oregon ( http://cityrepair.org/ )
United Nations – Division for Sustainable Development – Agenda 21
( http://www.un.org/esa/dsd/agenda21 )
Bioneers Collaboration – Dreaming New Mexico ( http://www.dreamingnewmexico.org/ )
Bioneers ( http://www.bioneers.org/ )
Transition US ( http://transitionus.org/ )
Transition Network ( http://transitionnetwork.org/ )
Open Architecture Network ( http://www.openarchitecturenetwork.org/ )
Architecture for Humanity ( http://architectureforhumanity.org/ )
Habitat for Humanity ( http://www.habitat.org )
International Rescue Committee ( http://www.theirc.org/ )
Awakening the Dreamer, Changing the Dream – The Pachamama Alliance
( http://awakeningthedreamer.org/ )
The Center for a Sustainable Today – Oregon ( http://sustainabletoday.org )
Balle – Local Living Economies ( http://www.livingeconomies.org/ )
TED ( http://www.ted.com/ )
The Sierra Club ( http://www.sierraclub.org/ )
Earthship Biotecture ( http://earthship.com/ )
Global Cities Projects ( http://www.global-cities.info/commsust/projects )
Red Feather Development Group – Montana ( http://www.redfeather.org/ )
Off The Mat Into the World ( http://www.offthematintotheworld.org )
International Living Building Institute ( http://ilbi.org/ )
GreenPeace ( http://www.greenpeace.org )
Sierra Club ( http://www.sierraclub.org )
Gaia Education ( http://gaiaeducation.net/ )
UN Millennium Project ( http://www.unmillenniumproject.org )
Black Rock Arts Foundation ( http://www.blackrockarts.org/grants )
Eden On Earth ( http://www.edenonearthlandscaping.com/ )
Esalen Permaculture ( http://www.esalen.org/workshops )
Food Not Bombs ( http://www.foodnotbombs.net/ )
Permaculture Institute ( http://www.permaculture.org )
Slow Food ( http://www.slowfood.com/ )
The Green Living Project ( http://www.greenlivingproject.com/ )
Aprovecho ( http://www.aprovecho.net/ )
Grassroots United ( http://www.grassrootsunited.org/ )
Regenerative Design Institute ( http://www.regenerativedesign.org/ )
Permaculture USA ( http://www.permacultureusa.org/ )
Permaculture for Humanity ( http://www.earthflow.com/ )
WWOOF – Worldwide opportunities on organic farms ( http://www.wwoof.org/ )
Ask Nature ( http://asknature.org/ )
Biomimicry Institute ( http://biomimicryinstitute.org/ )


Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s